How I got motivated to do more work and be more productive

How I got motivated to do more work and be more productive

Lack of motivation, procrastination and distractions are quite common problems for anyone who has loads of tasks to work on. Many books, articles and podcasts on the subject of productivity and time management have been published to address these problems, offering tips on how to tackle distractions and leverage the most out of your time.

In this article, I plan to share a simple approach I took to organize my tasks and get them done on a daily basis. It was and is still a process of success and misses and it may not work for everyone. However, I believe it is helpful to share my experience which is in part inspired by the techniques discussed in the Atomic Habits book by James Clear (a book I definitely recommend you to read if you want to get a hold of your life) and my own experiments with different techniques.

Something to keep in mind

Before we begin, you need to keep in mind that getting things done primarily requires discipline more than anything else. Motivation can get you excited to make the first step, but discipline is what gives you a steady push along the path to success. Yet, discipline is not the only factor that plays a key role here. After all, people do not have the same level of discipline and self-control. There are plenty of effective strategies and techniques discussed in the book Atomic Habits which can be boiled down to the following:

  • utilize visual cues in your environment*that grab your attention. Make them obvious.*

  • make the tasks attractive*. Pair a task you need to do with a task you enjoy doing.*

  • make the tasks easier*. Design your environment to make tasks easier to do.*

  • make the tasks satisfying*. Reward yourself after each task.*

My approach comprises of the following components:

  • a to-do list

  • environment redesign

  • pomodoro technique

  • habit tracker

Let’s discuss each one in detail:

To-do Lists

One of the reasons we often feel unproductive is that we haven’t even figured out what we need to work on. On other occasions we tend to work on tasks in an unorganized manner, often jumping between tasks and leaving some of them unfinished. I myself have gone through this.

The chaotic way of starting the day is the root of the problem. The solution is in two steps: the first step is to get a clear visionof what responsibilities you have in hand for the day. The second is to write everything down in a to-do list so you can track every step you take throughout the day.

What do I use? Every night before sleep, I write down a simple list of tasks for the next day. I primarily use an app called ‘ticktick’, in addition to a notebook and a whiteboard. Yes, I even use a whiteboard. I list down the same tasks on each medium. The reason I use all three is to reduce any possibility of the tasks going unnoticed.

How did this approach help? Both the app and whiteboard share the same advantage in that they make it really difficult not to see the list:

  • the app is installed in the same device that contributes to my mindless scrolling habit, so I have no choice but to glance at it whenever I felt like checking instagram. It also allows me to set a reminder for each task at the day and time that I desire. So even if I consciously or subconsciously ignore the list, I would get a reminder that I owe myself some work done.

  • As for the whiteboard, the benefit is simply in its size and where I set it up. It’s hard to miss.

We obviously might not have the same preferences. You may lean towards writing on a notebook rather than a digital app or prefer other options. That's completely fine as long as they do the trick.

The environment Redesign

The environment you work in is crucial in helping you focus on work. if you have the flexibility to choose where to work, you should set up a quiet, distraction-free environment.

Moving to a different place is recommended rather than redesigning your current environment because this gives you the sense of starting over the task with a clear and focused mind.

If you don’t have the luxury to move somewhere else then allocate a separate space for each task: a space for working. Another space for reading, etc.

How did I set up my environment? I chose to separate environments based on what task I needed to work on:

  • I’m working from home, so I do my primary work in my room or I set up a cozy chair and table in the balcony.

  • I chose the park at the condo where I live as my reading spot. It’s quiet and helps put my mind both at ease and in focus.

Pomodoro Technique

You can get distracted by so many things:

  • procrastinating

  • your phone notifications

  • the urge to check instagram, ticktok or other apps.

Even if you convince yourself to ignore the distractions and concentrate on your work, you often don’t notice your focus slipping away until you catch yourself procrastinating or scrolling post after post.

One of the most common and effective ways to regain focus is a technique called Pomodoro, which essentially uses a timer to break down work into a intervals (typically 25 minutes) separated by short breaks (5 minutes). All you need to do is set a timer for 25 minutes, start working until the timer rings, take a short break then repeat the process.

The benefits of this technique include:

  • time management

  • increased focus

  • reduced procrastination

  • enhanced productivity

What app do I use? Any app would do the trick, even your phone has a built-in timer. I use an interesting app called Forest. For every period of time you complete. you plant a tree. If you give up, the tree dies.

if this approach does not prevent you from checking your phone, you can update the settings on your phone to block any notifications until the work is done or the timer rings.

Habit Tracker

Tracking your tasks or habits is an effective way to ensure you’re on the right track. But this not the only benefit; When you track what needs to be done, what is in progress and what you managed to complete, you’re giving yourself boost of immediate satisfaction. It gives you a sort of reward when you measure your progress which can result in feeling motivated to work harder to keep the chain of completed tasks unbroken.

You can record your progress in the manner that is convenient for you so you can use it as a habit tracker.

What do I use? To-do lists function as a sufficient habit tracker for me since I put a tick next to every completed task.

Hard work can far more beneficial when it is done in a systematic and organized manner through the use of effective techniques. This is the approach that works for me and it is by no means the only approach. So if you feel there are more effective time-management techniques that I have not mentioned here, please do no hesitate to share them in the comments. Let’s learn from each other.

thanks for reading